“You know, if you keep doing this they’ll expect that from you everyday.”

I was hired at the my current job six plus years ago.

I had just retired from the Navy and was wanting to prove myself.

I was wanting a job where I could make a difference.

So as I’ve done with most of the jobs I’ve worked at it this was something I was wanting to do. Work where I do now.

As an older worker I was raring to go! I was ready to work and prove myself.

What I found was disheartening.

I was working at a large facility and took it upon myself to show my effort.

What I was told was, “You know, if you keep working this hard they’re going to expect that from you everyday.”

What? Really?!? Me working hard was going to hurt me and my chances of working here?

So I asked, “What do you mean by that?”

That said, “all we are saying is there is plenty to save for tomorrow. If we show them we can do more then they’ll expect that from us and expect us to do that and more.”

That thinking blew my mind! Were they serious?

I questioned myself. Was I working to hard? I only have one speed and that is do what I’m expected to do to the best of my ability.

I was truly baffled by this type of thinking.

The problem was I just could not do what they said. My work ethic wouldn’t let me do what they wanted me to do.

Since then I’ve heard this many, many, many more times and it still makes me shake my head.

The way I work is I’m always thinking what if my family was watching me secretly.

Would they want to see me sleeping at work?

Would they want to see me working slower then everyone else?

Would they want to hear me complain about everything pertaining to my job?

Would they want to see me walk around and not be where I was supposed to be working?

Would they want to see me not give my best effort?

I work the way I do for my family!

I work the way I do because I care!

I work the way I do for everyone that I serve!

I work the way I do for you!

2 thoughts on ““You know, if you keep doing this they’ll expect that from you everyday.”

  1. In FPU, Dave Ramsey talks about how the little man just can’t get ahead. It’s because of this mentality. Don’t work while you’re at work. You’re just a goat not a gazelle. Keep running brother, and let everyone else get eaten by the cheetahs!

    • Slowly that are, but it’s tough and hard to explain. The union is powerful and protects those that need to be gone or should I say if it were any other company they would be.
      I just keep doing what I’m doing for me and the others that appreciate how I work.

Leave a Reply

