20,000 Days

I read a book recently called “20,000 Days and Counting” by Robert D. Smith.

It’s a short book that packs a punch! The author writes about how on his 50th birthday he goes off on his own and reflects on his life. He then writes personal e-mails to all of his friends and lets them know what an impact that they’ve had on his life.

Many respond by e-mail, others call worrying about him! He assures them he’s fine and that he just wanted them to know what they have meant to him over all of these years.

When I read the book I couldn’t put it down. It is an amazing book by an author who doesn’t call himself an author. You see this is his first book he’s ever written.

Robert D. is the most enthusiastic person you will ever hear speak or meet! Nothing out of his mouth is negative. He is one person I would love to met someday!!

The reason Im writing this is because of a friend I met at work one day. This friend of mine, David, had the same attitude as Robert D.! I never saw a day where he was down and out or upset. He even got let go and came back to a different job for this same company.

After reading this book I gave it to another friend. He read it and from what he told me he liked it. But I could tell it really wasn’t for him.

I then gave it to David and that’s when he was let go. At first I felt bad he was let go but I was happy that I gave him this book to read to show him that life would go on and not to be discouraged.

So to see him come back was GREAT!! Still happy, and grateful to have a job. I asked him if he liked the book and he said he loved it and I could tell that he had gotten something out of it. He asked if I wanted it back and I told him to keep it as long as he needed it.

David said that he wanted his brother to read it. I said absolutely hold it as long as you want.

Well a couple of weeks passed and I saw him again with the huge smile he always had on his face! I loved talking to him because he always raised my spirits!! I asked him if his family liked the book and he said they were loving it!

A week later another friend gave me my book back, he said that David was looking for me to return it and so he gave it to him to find me.

I got sick that next couple of days and was out for two weeks.

I came back to work and went to clock in. I saw a sign posted by our time clock and when signs were posted like that it usually meant that someone has passed away. I usually don’t pay attention to these because I usually don’t know that person.

This time was different. I immediately felt ill. I was shocked! I was mad, and so so sad.

It was David that had passed away… I asked if anyone knew how, why or what had happened? He was as old as I was. What had happened?

We were friends but I never really knew about him other then the fact he was married. I never knew his health situation or anything really personnel about him.

He had diabetes and had gone into a diabetic coma and passed away.

By the time I saw the posting everything was done! The viewing, funeral, everything…

My friend was gone and I was sad… gone was his contagious smile. Gone was his laugh.

I then remembered about the book I gave him. I was glad that he read it just months before.

It also made me think about my life and the friends I meet everyday and the friends I have now.

Life is so short. Make sure you are living a life that people will look back on and say WOW!!

At this posting I’m 17,978 days old.

How many days old are you?

5 thoughts on “20,000 Days

  1. I am 16297 days old. Crazy number. It’s so cool that you were able to encourage your friend with the book. When I go, I want to be remembered as an encourager. Thanks for sharing this moment with us. Eat dessert first!

  2. I’m 13,327 days old! Crazy! Your story was so sweet. I’m so sorry about your friend but I’m thankful that you were able to sow into his life before he was gone. Such a great reminder that we just don’t know how long we have.

  3. Hey, Steve!!! What an awesome testimony and a great example of sharing a book and in a very meaningful way. Our days are truly numbered. It is great to see how many days everyone has been alive in your comments. Today is my 21,587th day.

    Keep up the great work. Very proud of all you are doing!!!

  4. I’m 12,350 days old…. Great post… Life is much better when we look for opportunities not just to “pay it forward”, but to truly make an investment in someone else. Regardless of how much we invest and what method we use, there will almost always be a return.

Leave a Reply

